Skip Navigation

Female solo travel Melbourne

Travel Forums Australia / New Zealand & The Pacific Female solo travel Melbourne

Page
  • 1
  • 2

Last Post

1. Posted by Charlotte24 (Budding Member 11 posts) 27w

Hey,
I'm planning to get a working holiday visa for Australia and starting my Jornery from Melbourne hoping to end up in Carirns by the end of the year hopefully picking up jobs along the way to earn a bit of money.
This will be my first time travelling on my own, I was just wondering if people have any recommendations or advice for solo travel and getting around Australia.
I will be going mid June this year.
Thank you in advance.
Charlotte

2. Posted by OldPro (Respected Member 219 posts) 27w

Be realistic about your work plans. Having a WHV gives you the right to work but it does not guarantee you will FIND work. Plenty of people find no work at all when they are looking at the wrong time, in the wrong places or with nothing to offer an employer.

Hoping to find work to supplement your funds is one thing and counting on finding work to fund your time is another. Above all, do not plan on finding work to pay for future travel, that is a recipe for disaster. There is a reason why you have to have a specific minimum amount of money in order to get a WHV. That reason is, in case you don't find work.

It is also a fact that any job you get at home is likely to pay more than a job you get when travelling. Think like an employer, if you have a job some tourist can do for 3 months and there are plenty of them around, why would you pay top wages? WHV workers tend to find work in the same places, with the same employers and so for the employer, workers are a dime a dozen.

If you work 2 jobs at home for a year before you travel, you will have all the money you need for your trip (or should have) and not have to work at all. That means you will be free to enjoy ALL your time. If you spend 12 months away from home, do you really want to spend 6 of those months working? That's like really only having 6 months free.

Finally, beware of that idea of 'picking up jobs along the way'. You make it sound like you will easily find a series of jobs for short periods of time as you go. How likely is it that you could do that at home? It is no more likely in Australia. Nor is it likely to find jobs that pay much at all if they are really short term. An office job for 6 months is going to pay a lot more per week than a job picking grapes for 3 weeks.

I'm not suggesting you can't find work, thousands do every year but I am suggesting you be realistic about your expectations and have a plan B. I'm also suggesting that best of all is to have enough money to not have to work at all.

3. Posted by Charlotte24 (Budding Member 11 posts) 27w

Thanks for your advise/opinion.
I am currently working 2 jobs at home. I never meant it to sound like it would be easy getting a job in Australia. I just want the experience of work and travel something I don't really get to do here, To try out something different. If I couldn't get a job it wouldn't be so much of a problem. I am not just wanting a job to make money to live off, I have saved enough for that but just a bit extra money to travel Australia with and possibly the opportunity of extending my visa for another year.
😊

4. Posted by OldPro (Respected Member 219 posts) 27w

Sounds fine Charlotte24, I was just offering some general advice. Not everyone who plans travel and getting a WHV thinks things through realistically.

5. Posted by Charlotte24 (Budding Member 11 posts) 27w

I agree, I appreciate the advice 😊 Thank you.

[ Edit: Edited on 22-Mar-2016, at 11:49 by Charlotte24 ]

6. Posted by Jordan.1985 (Budding Member 62 posts) 26w

That's pretty much what I'm doing Charlotte24 traveling till my money runs low and then maybe look for a job, if not return home simple.

[ Edit: Edited on 27-Mar-2016, at 17:34 by Jordan.1985 ]

7. Posted by Charlotte24 (Budding Member 11 posts) 26w

Cool, when are you going to Australia? 😊

8. Posted by Jordan.1985 (Budding Member 62 posts) 26w

Was that too me Charlotte24 ?

9. Posted by Charlotte24 (Budding Member 11 posts) 26w

Yeah it was, sorry Jordan.1985

10. Posted by Jordan.1985 (Budding Member 62 posts) 26w

Ha ha that's ok Charlotte24 I'm in Melbourne already this will be 2 weeks tomorrow :)