Skip Navigation

Berlin hostel recommendations

Travel Forums Europe Berlin hostel recommendations

1. Posted by Sander (Moderator 4835 posts) 10y

Sander has indicated that this thread is about Germany

I'm planning a trip to Germany in early June (before the worldcup starts, although I fear I'll have lots of trouble because of that anyway), and although while travelling down under I always defaulted to YHA hostels, the ones in Germany don't really appeal (no communal kitchens (???), and virtually impossible to book a private room, which I'd kinda like given that I currently have the money to afford them and always am quite in favour of undisturbed sleep). :)

So, I'm looking for some recommendations of hostels in Berlin, having (in rough order of importance):

  • communal kitchen
  • private rooms for less than ~€60
  • (free) parking provided
  • linen provided
  • good atmosphere. :)

Looking through the hostel booking here at travellerspoint, the Easterner Hostel looks good, as does Meininger City Hostel Hallesches Ufer. Anyone ever stayed there? Any other recommendations?

2. Posted by ozman (Full Member 118 posts) 10y

Lette' Em Sleep. In Lette Strasse of Lychener Strasse close to Eberswalder Strasse station in East Berlin.

I don't know if I have spelled that train station correctly! But the hostel has a communal kitchen and you can get private rooms there probably for under €60.

Better be quick for the world cup though!

3. Posted by butafly (Budding Member 51 posts) 10y

Hi,

In German hostels you can usually buy a very cheap and normally good quality breakfast (if not included), lunch and dinner, I guess that's why most don't have kitchens. They exist, though! Have a look at this:

http://www.gaeste-etage.de/index.html

This is a very good hostel which I stayed in when I was about ten so I don't remember much but I know that my dad, who is a teacher, always stays there on class excursions and he has always liked it. It has a kitchen and rooms for teachers which I am sure you can book as long as no groups are staying. Make sure to book early though, my dad is going on a class excursion to Berlin in June and booked months ago and even then it was almost impossible to find anything!

Hope this helps,

butafly

4. Posted by BjornParee (Full Member 150 posts) 10y

Dear,

I don't have any experience in hostels in Berlin. In July (during worldcup final) I will stay at the "City Stay Hostel". On all of these hostels you can book online and direct on to the hostel. All website have an english version and they give all very good information.

The Circus Hostel www.circus-berlin.de
The Generator www.generatorhostels.com
The Corner Hostel www.corner-hostel.de
Backpackers Hostel www.backpackers.de
Sunflower Hostel www.sunflower-hostel.de
Heart of Gold Hostel www.heartofgold-hostel.de
Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee www.globetrotterhostel.de
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel www.alcatraz-backpacker.de
Pegasus Hostel www.pegasushostel.de
Clubhouse Hostel www.clubhouse-berlin.de
Bax Pax Backpacker www.baxpax.de
Mitte's Backpacker Hostel www.backpacker.de
East Seven Hostel www.eastseven.de
City Stay Hostel www.citystay.de
Meininger City Hostelwww.meininger-hostel.de
Three Little Pigs Hostel Berlin www.three-little-pigs.de

Posts 5 - 7 were removed by moderators