I just got an email telling me that someone had commented on my blog. It was a public comment (non-TP user), but it went live immediately. The comment was fine, so no worries there. I would just have expected that the comment would be in moderation.
It was from someone who had posted a comment in moderation before that I made live. Not sure if maybe someone has been approved once that they are approved going forward?
Yep, if someone posts a comment from an email address you've previously approved then the comment goes live straightaway. You'll still get the notification and can undo it if you like but this seemed to make sense in lots of cases, ie a family member that wants to comment on a trip... Just to clarify, if that person comments on a different blog, it won't be auto-approved!
Does this make sense?
Yes, makes sense. I just didn't realize that was the way it works.