When I upload a photo, the following option is listed: "Show in Gallery If you untick this, the photo won't show in your public gallery." Does this mean that my photos will not show in my blog if I untick this statement? or, Does it mean that my photos are available in a "public gallery" for everyone in the world to see unless I untick the above statement. I only want my photos to be seen in my blog which is password protected. I do not want them to be available to everyone in a "public gallery."
[ Edit: Edited on 08-Sep-2011, at 19:31 by questors ]
It's the latter, ie. every member has a public gallery where photos show which don't have that ticked. You can still embed them in your blog (private or not). It's definitely the best solution available for private blogs.
At the very top of the screen there's a link "My profile". If you click on that, you'll see your profile as other people see it. Currently six photos show in the top-right of that page: those are the photos of your public gallery.
My photos were attached to my private blog. After I unticked them all from the "public gallery", they disappeared from my private blog, so I "reticked" them to the public gallery. However, they still are not appearing on my private blog. How do I imbed my photos into my private blog?
How do you mean "attached"? The little box of photos in the sidebar of your blog indeed shows photos from your public gallery. You can however embed photos in the text of the blog by clicking on the little "picture" icon above the textarea where you write or edit your blog entries, and that works for non-public photos as well.
As Sander mentions, there's a difference between the photo gallery which shows on your blog automatically (the thumbnails on the right/left hand side), and photos which are embedded in an actual entry. You can embed any photos in an entry (including private ones), but only public photos show in the automatically generated navigation area.
In other words, you the user, have to take manual action to ensure photos otherwise marked as private are shown somewhere. Hopefully that makes sense!