Skip Navigation

Blog Autosaving multiple copies?

Travel Forums System Talk Blog Autosaving multiple copies?

1. Posted by Gelli (Travel Guru, 2457 posts) 12 Jun '12 18:09

I have just been (finally) uploading several blog posts and tweaking them, inserting photos etc. As my connection is very dodgy, i have been saving frequently. It used to work so that the latest version saved as a draft, which was great. Now, however, even when published, it appears that every single saved version still remains. As such, i have just had to go and delete 12 versions of a single blog post (and several versions of other posts). Is this how it is supposed to work now?

I prefer several saved versions to none at all, but it does appear to be overkill. If it is deliberate, fine, but a 'mulitple delete' option would be helpful, so i don't have to remove them all individually.

2. Posted by Peter (Admin, 5417 posts) 13 Jun '12 03:26

Definitely not intended behaviour. Will require some investigation!

3. Posted by Isadora (Moderator, 13924 posts) 13 Jun '12 07:40

Sounds like the same problem I've experienced - and posted about it twice now- just on a grander scale. I go in to tweak or copy/paste from a published blog using the edit function. When I'm done (whether the current blog is saved as draft or published), the published one I used for the c/p is still published but a new draft copy also appears. Same with tweaking an older blog.

I realize most people aren't going to delete their blog entries... But, as Rich suggested, could there not be the check boxes with a delete button added to the blog management page? (Similar to the photo management pages.)

[ Edit: Edited on 13-Jun-2012, at 07:49 by Isadora ]

4. Posted by Peter (Admin, 5417 posts) 13 Jun '12 23:42

Quoting Isadora

Sounds like the same problem I've experienced - and posted about it twice now- just on a grander scale. I go in to tweak or copy/paste from a published blog using the edit function. When I'm done (whether the current blog is saved as draft or published), the published one I used for the c/p is still published but a new draft copy also appears. Same with tweaking an older blog.

Sounds a little different to me. But I'm unable to replicate either situation in my tests so far, so kind of hard to say.

I've put up a few changes to the autosaving that should make it hopefully a bit more robust, while at the same time using a LOT less calls. It was saving every 3 seconds which is overkill :) and it was saving the entry even if there weren't any changes since the last save. Now it will only save every 30 seconds (which should be a good balance, I'd think) and it would only save if there was a change made since the last save. That will cut down a lot of unnecessary processing on our end. And maybe those overly-aggressive saves were also to blame for the multiple saves that you had Rich.

Kellie here also mentioned that she had the same issue as you Gretchen, but not the multiple drafts like Rich. If it happens again, I'll analyse that situation closely and see what could have happened.