Skip Navigation



Banten is the westernmost province on the island of Java, in Indonesia. The provincial capital city is Serang. Formerly part of the province of West Java, Banten became a separate province in 2000. The province is a transit corridor to the neighbouring Indonesian island of Sumatra.

Historically, it has had a culture distinct from the rest of Java and that of the broader Indonesian archipelago. In recent years, the northern half, particularly those areas near Jakarta and the Java Sea coast, have experienced rapid rises in population and urbanization, while the southern half, particularly that facing the Indian Ocean, maintains more of its traditional character.




Banten lies between 5°7'50" and 7°1'11" south latitude and 105°1'11" and 106°7'12" east longitude. The province has an area of 9,662.92 km². Banten is located near the Sunda Strait's strategic sea lanes that link Australia and New Zealand to Southeast Asia. Banten's ports accommodate the excess capacity of sea ports from Jakarta.



Getting There

By Train

Numerous train stations serve the province, operated by Indonesia's national rail operator, PT Kereta Api.

By Boat

The province has the nation's busiest ferry terminals to Lampung on the island of Sumatra.


Banten Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Banten

This is version 2. Last edited at 8:03 on Jun 28, 16 by Utrecht. 2 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License