The Fortress of Louisbourg was originally built by the French in the 18th century. It was designated as the capital of the French colony Ile Royale (present day Cape Breton) and was the first line of defence in the battle for North America with the British. The Fotress was first sacked by the British in 1754 after a six week seige. Over the next 15 years the Fortress was returned to the French in a treaty and captured again by the British until it was destroyed in 1760. 
In 1961, then Prime Minister of Canada, John Deifenbaker started the rebuilding process of the Fortress of Louisbourg. This rebuilding took most of the next two decades when it was finished in the 1980s. Currently it is an interactive site which provides a glimpse into 18th century life and the history of Nova Scotia and Canada.
Help contribute to this article to share the ad revenue.
We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Fortress of Louisburg
This is version 2. Last edited at 18:22 on Aug 28, 08 by Hien. No articles link to this page.
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License