Skip Navigation

Macedon Ranges

Travel Guide Oceania Australia Victoria Macedon Ranges



The Shire of Macedon Ranges is a local government area (LGA) in Victoria, Australia, located in the central part of the state. It covers an area of 1,747 square kilometres and, at the 2011 Census, had a population of 41,860. It includes the towns of Clarkefield, Gisborne, Kyneton, Lancefield, Macedon, Malmsbury, Mount Macedon, New Gisborne, Riddells Creek, Romsey and Woodend. It was formed in 1995 from the amalgamation of the Shire of Romsey, Shire of Gisborne, Shire of Newham and Woodend, and most of the Shire of Kyneton.

The Shire is governed and administered by the Macedon Ranges Shire Council; its seat of local government and administrative centre is located at the council headquarters in Kyneton, it also has service centres located in Gisborne, Romsey and Woodend. The Shire is named after the major geographical feature in the region, the Macedon Ranges, which is located near the centre of the LGA.


Macedon Ranges Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Macedon Ranges

This is version 1. Last edited at 12:19 on Aug 10, 16 by Utrecht. 1 article links to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License