Skip Navigation



Maluku is a province of Indonesia. It comprises the central and southern regions of the Maluku Islands. The main city and capital of Maluku province is Ambon on the small Ambon Island. All the Maluku Islands were part of a single province from 1950 until 1999. In 1999 the northern part of Maluku (then comprising the Maluku Utara Regency, the Halmahera Tengah Regency and the City of Ternate) were split off to form a separate province of North Maluku (Indonesian: Maluku Utara).


Maluku Travel Helpers

  • ullfri49

    Special interested in Maluku, I could give some remarks, but only, if questions special to Ambon and Saparua. Last time I was sometimes in Pulau Saparua - one of the nice Maluku island.

    Ask ullfri49 a question about Maluku

This is version 1. Last edited at 7:39 on Jun 29, 16 by Utrecht. 3 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License