The Pass of Glencoe and its village are remembered for a terrible abuse of hospitality and massacre in 1692, which is still the subject of considerable controversy. However it is undeniably the site of some tremendous highland scenery.
On the northern side of the glen is a superb ridge Aonach Eagach that vies with Torridonian An Teallach further north to be considered the finest on the mainland. On the southern side there is a complex mountain structure with Bidean nam Bian. The main peak is not seen from the many cars that pass down the road through the glen because of three major protuberances known as the 'Three Sisters of Glencoe.' Between the top two is what is usually called 'The Lost Valley,' where the MacDonald clan used to keep their cattle.
Near the bottom of the glen, Loch Leven, that extends to Kinlochleven. At one time the way north was either to follow a road round Loch Leven or to cross it on the Ballachulish car ferry. Strictly speaking, Glencoe is the only village in the glen.
There is ample scope for climbers as well as walkers.
Help contribute to this article to share the ad revenue.
We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Pass of Glencoe
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License