Skip Navigation

Revillagigedo Islands

Travel Guide North America Mexico Revillagigedo Islands



The Revillagigedo Islands are a group of four volcanic islands in the Pacific Ocean, known for their unique ecosystem. They lie approximately 390 kilometres southwest of Cabo San Lucas, the southern tip of the Baja California Peninsula, and 720 to 970 kilometres west of Manzanillo. They are located around 18°49′N 112°46′WCoordinates: 18°49′N 112°46′W. The islands have been part of Manzanillo municipality of the Mexican state of Colima since 1861, but are nevertheless under Mexican federal jurisdiction. In July 2016, the Revillagigedo Archipelago were inscribed as a World Heritage Site.




The total area is 157.81 km2, spread over an east-to-west extent of about 420 kilometres. A naval station in the south of Socorro Island has a population of 45 (staff). On Clarión is a small naval garrison with 9 men. The islands are otherwise uninhabited. The islands are named after Don Juan Vicente de Güemes, 2nd Count of Revillagigedo, the 53rd viceroy of New Spain.

The three eastern islands are called the inner islands. They fall in the time zone UTC-7 (Mountain Time), while the major part of Colima is UTC-6 (Central Time Zone). Clarión is comparatively far to the west, by more than 200 kilometres in comparison with the inner islands, and in UTC-8 (Pacific Time Zone). The Revillagigedo Islands are one of three Mexican island groups in the Pacific Ocean that are not on the continental shelf; the others are Guadalupe Island and Rocas Alijos.


Revillagigedo Islands Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Revillagigedo Islands

This is version 1. Last edited at 13:35 on Mar 16, 17 by Utrecht. 1 article links to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License