Skip Navigation

South China Karst

Travel Guide Asia China South China Karst



The South China Karst, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since June 2007, spans the provinces of Guangxi, Guizhou, and Yunnan. It is noted for its karst features and landscapes as well as rich biodiversity. The site comprises three clusters: Libo Karst, Shilin Karst and Wulong Karst. UNESCO describes the South China Karst as "unrivalled in terms of the diversity of its karst features and landscapes".




It contains the most significant types of karst landforms, including tower karst, pinnacle karst and cone karst formations, along with other spectacular characteristics such as natural bridges, gorges and large cave systems. The stone forests of Shilin are considered superlative natural phenomena and a world reference. The cone and tower karsts of Libo, also considered the world reference site for these types of karst, form a distinctive and beautiful landscape. Wulong Karst has been inscribed for its giant dolines (sinkholes), natural bridges and caves.





South China Karst Travel Helpers

  • eddakath

    can you help me transfer my Travelpod blog to yours? 10 years of blogging, 900 pages, 30,000 photos. Travelpod are shutting down, will delete all blogs but are trying to write a thread to help download our blogs, but I don't know how to do. can you help me

    Ask eddakath a question about South China Karst

This is version 1. Last edited at 8:01 on Jan 29, 16 by Utrecht. 2 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License