Skip Navigation

West Nusa Tenggara

Travel Guide Asia Indonesia Lesser Sunda Islands West Nusa Tenggara



West Nusa Tenggara is a province of Indonesia. It comprises the western portion of the Lesser Sunda Islands, with the exception of Bali which is its own province. Mataram, on Lombok, is the capital and largest city of the province. The province's area is 19,708.79 km2. The two largest islands in the province are Lombok in the west and the larger Sumbawa island in the east.



Sights and Activities

Gili Islands

The Gili Islands are located just off the northwest tip of Lombok. There are three islands. First, Gili Trawangan (the largest and most visited of the three islands, also known as the party island). Second, Gili Air (the closest of the three islands to Lombok, and the one with a well developed local community). Finally Gili Meno is sandwiched between the others. Gili Meno is very laid back indeed.

Gunung Rinjani

Mount Rinjani or Gunung Rinjani is an active volcano in Indonesia on the island of Lombok. It rises to 3,726 metres, making it the second highest volcano in Indonesia. On the top of the volcano is a 6 by 8.5-kilometre caldera, which is filled partially by the crater lake known as Segara Anak (Child of the Sea). This lake is approximately 2000 metres above sea level and estimated at being around 200 metres deep. You can fish in the lake. The caldera also contains hot springs. From the top of the volcano, you can see Gunung Agung, the Gili Islands, Sumbawa and the vast sea.


West Nusa Tenggara Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for West Nusa Tenggara

This is version 3. Last edited at 8:02 on Jun 29, 16 by Utrecht. 2 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License