Skip Navigation

West Papua (Province)

Travel Guide Asia Indonesia West Papua West Papua



West Papua is a province of Indonesia. It covers the two western peninsulas of the island of New Guinea. Its capital is Manokwari, although the largest city is Sorong. West Papua Province was created from the western portion of Papua (province) in February 2003, initially under the name of West Irian Jaya (Indonesian: Irian Jaya Barat); it received its current name in 2007. The province covers the Bird's Head (Doberai) and Bomberai peninsulas and the surrounding islands of Raja Ampat. It is the least populous province of Indonesia except for the newly created province of North Kalimantan.



Sights and Activities

Raja Ampat Diving Spot

Raja Ampat has diverse activities to explore. From the stark wave-pounded slopes, the deep nutrient-rich bays, to the “blue water mangrove” channels are home to unique assemblages of species that, when taken together, add to produce the most impressive species lists ever compiled for a coral reef system of this size. Unlike other places in Indonesia, Raja Ampat will need extra effort to be reached. There aren't many major airplane companies go to Raja Ampat and it's quite expensive since it is in rural area. But the diving experiment will exceed every effort you can make, since the beauty of the islands and originality of the islands from modern life, will leave a special memories in your mind.


West Papua (Province) Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for West Papua (Province)

This is version 2. Last edited at 8:03 on Jun 29, 16 by Utrecht. 2 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License