Travel Photography Photos tagged as jamestown
56 photos | Tags: jamestown Show as stream
This is a replica of the type of Native American dwellings in Virginia when the English arrived. In addition to providing shelter, a families wealth was stored here, mostly consisting of deer hides.
There aren't any rocks in the coastal planes of Virginia to speak off, so before the Colony started making bricks, fireplaces were just mud.
This is from the replica of the Susan Constant, the largest of the three ships carrying the first settlers to Jamestown in 1607
While built on the 1600's town site, these ruins are much newer. It was built in the 1750's for the tobacco plantation then located on James Island.
The handle is all that remains, but this 'Copeland Spoon' is one of the oldest pewter pieces that have been found that were actually made in America. The stamp indicates it was made in 1675 by Joseph Copeland in Chuckatuck, a settlement about 30 miles SE of Jamestown.
We didn't start heading back from Historic Jamestown until dusk. Mom didn't let that stop her from collecting sand a little farther down the James River.
This is a recent copy (& colorization) of a 1616 drawing of Captain Smith. He left Jamestown in 1609, about seven years before this was drawn.
It was very cold when the day started out, but got much nicer later. This section of the wall has been reconstructed exactly where the original 1607 wall stood.
The newer portion of the building was constructed in the early 1900's on the original foundation and as closely as possible to what the 1640's church looked like. The tower on the left is from 1640, it is the only remaining structure from the 1600's on the island.
While he remained in Jamestown only for two years, Capt Smith was instrumental in the survival of the struggling colony. He remained a big promoter of Virginia after returning to England and returned to map other parts of the NE coastline.
This is what the Row Houses looked like when in use. They were occupied between 1650 and 1720 (at least). Each house was about 20 feet wide and 40 feet deep.
This is what's left of the 1650's row houses today. Since they were brick, there is a little more left than of the wood & mud area's from the original fort.
You might find some more related photos through these galleries