Travel Photography Photos tagged as forts and colonial
This is the oldest surviving masonry fort in the continental United States, completed in 1695.
This is a photograph of how Fort Matanzas looked in 1912, before the Park Service restored it.
The roof above was flat, so I suspect the curved ceiling is to provide strength against bombardment.
The Spanish didn't build fireplaces on the St. Augustine forts. Heat, if needed, was provided by small charcoal fires in something like this.
Fort Matanzas is on an island and only accessable by NPS Ferry.
This is a model of how the fort would have looked in it's prime - with a white plaster coating.
This is from the roof, about 30 feet up. The stairs visible lead to the Officer's quarters. A separate ladder reaches from their to the roof.
The fort is just an outpost to protect St. Augustine from attack from the river. It is 49' on each side and about 30' tall.
Fort Matanzas was built between 1740 and 1742 as an outpost to protect St. Augustine from attacks from the river.
The first floor of the 'tower' at Fort Matanzas housed everyone except the officer. Normally, this included four infantrymen and two gunners. However, up to 50 men could be assigned to the fort if hostilities threatened.
These men are dressed as Spanish soldiers from the early 1700's.
The San Agustin Bastioin is visible through the crenel, our cutout in the upper wall (an embattled parapet).
This is the only entrance to the fort. It was called the Sally Port because it was where soldiers sallied (went from) to attack an enemy
The Ravelin was a small, fortified structure that protected the main gate, or Sally Port.
Called the Sn Pablo Bastion. The moat would have been filled with water when the fort was active.
This fort was never taken in combat, although the British laid seige to it in 1702 and 1740. It changed hands three times in treaties.
Wooden walls extended around the city. Saint Augustine was set up as a military outpost.
This was cast in Spain in 1764. The inscription reads "Thunderbolts from an Angry King"
When the British controlled the fort, they added floors in the middle of the casemates to make two levels for barracks.
The San Carlos Bastion
Several of the casemates in the fort have been converted to Museum rooms, including this one.