Travel Photography Photos tagged as jamestown and colonial
This is the bridge from the visitors center to the original fort site. It crosses a pine and tar swamp
While built on the 1600's town site, these ruins are much newer. It was built in the 1750's for the tobacco plantation then located on James Island.
The handle is all that remains, but this 'Copeland Spoon' is one of the oldest pewter pieces that have been found that were actually made in America. The stamp indicates it was made in 1675 by Joseph Copeland in Chuckatuck, a settlement about 30 miles SE of Jamestown.
Pocohontas married John Rolfe and travelled with him to England in 1616. She died there a year later.
This is an original bake oven from the fort.
This is a recent copy (& colorization) of a 1616 drawing of Captain Smith. He left Jamestown in 1609, about seven years before this was drawn.
It was getting pretty dark, so I wasn't able to get a very clear shot, but there were quite a few deer on Jamestown Island.
This is one of two statues located at the site of the fort. The other is of Captain Smith.
It was very cold when the day started out, but got much nicer later. This section of the wall has been reconstructed exactly where the original 1607 wall stood.
The newer portion of the building was constructed in the early 1900's on the original foundation and as closely as possible to what the 1640's church looked like. The tower on the left is from 1640, it is the only remaining structure from the 1600's on the island.
In 1607, the colonists built a fort as depicted in this photo based on archeology. Some of the shoreline has since eroded.
While he remained in Jamestown only for two years, Capt Smith was instrumental in the survival of the struggling colony. He remained a big promoter of Virginia after returning to England and returned to map other parts of the NE coastline.
This is a 1900's replica, but is based on drawings of the original 1640's church.
This is located about 50 yards from where the fort was actually located.
The Park Service has erected the framework showing how the original huts were constructed.
This has been dated to at least 1625 if not earlier, making it one of the earliest wells at the fort.
Of course, none of the original structures exist any more, but archeologists have been able to determine how they were built.
This is about all that's left of some of the earlier homes such as in the Painting. They had started manufacturing bricks and using them for fireplaces and hearths.
This is a more detailed shot of the only remaining 1600's structure on James Island, the church tower built around 1640.
This is what the Row Houses looked like when in use. They were occupied between 1650 and 1720 (at least). Each house was about 20 feet wide and 40 feet deep.
This is what's left of the 1650's row houses today. Since they were brick, there is a little more left than of the wood & mud area's from the original fort.
Historic Jamestown is an active archeological site. Only about 15% of the total site (including new town) has been excavated.