Travel Photography Photos tagged as railroads
This is one of the train cars on display at the Strasburg Railroad Station.
This steam engine was painted, and used in the movie "Hello Dolly"
Like the other train museums we've seen, this one had several very nice model railroads set up. This one was HO scale
This is a replica of a 'Steam Carriage' built in 1825 by John Stevens on his NJ Estate to demonstrate the capabilities of using a steam engine for a railroad. Notice the geared track in the center.
In 1831, several railroad pioneers including John Stevens, decided to build an operating railroad. They had to import this engine from England as non were made in America at that time.
Freight Yards were used to take trains apart, sort the cars and assemble into new trains by destination - called 'classification'.
This is another example of a self propelled railroad car, similar to the ones we saw in Danbury CT, but this appears to be older.
The state of Pennsylvania runs and supports this museum. This is the largest Railroad Museum building in the US and houses quite a few beautifully restored engines and cars.
This is in Lancaster County, PA. Quite a few of the farms we saw had no cars or trucks, as the Amish don't use them. I didn't get a closer look at this one, but the horses may be an indicator.
Mom enjoyed the Doll Store, but didn't buy very much.
This is used as a museum now, and also for model railroad clubs. It was closed when we came by, but still thought it was cute.
This is how they can turn a train engine around. It is run by electric motors on the track that goes around the inside of the circle.
This gives you some idea how large this Railway Museum is
Coal was loaded in the bed of the tender. Water was stored in tanks in the walls of the tender. Enought water and coal was carried for about one day's travel.
Some of the museum train's have very informative signs, such as this one explaining how a steam engine works.
The sign in the center shows the location & names of the controls for this steam engine. Two men worked here, the engineer and fireman - who kept the engine supplied with coal.
This is Engine 1455 for the Boston & Maine Railroad. It was built in 1907 and ran on Steam, created by burning coal below a boiler. It remained in service until 1955.
This is a photo of the Post Office car the Museum was given. A great deal of work has gone into it's restoration.
The museum was given two very similar cars in similar condition at the same time. One has been restored, this one had not, obviously.
This is the freight car that has been restored. Before restoration, it looked a lot like the other car they still have, but haven't restored yet.
This was built in 1953 for use in switching yards. This unit is still operational.
This is the restored train depot as it looks today.
Built in 1954, this was a combination passenger car & diner. B&O is "Baltimore & Ohio", a Railroad company.