Skip Navigation

Surreywoman

  • Member since 27th Jul 16
  • 14 Photos
  • 0 Guide Characters

Live and let live

  • Full Name: Sally ( Female )
  • Citizenship: United Kingdom
  • Occupation: writer/teacher
  • About Surreywoman:

    I lived in Australia for a number of years (Sydney, Northern Beaches) and became an Australian Citizen.
    Now live in beautiful Devon in the UK.
    Found this website by accident, when searching for information for a book.
    In the seventies, I travelled from the UK twice by boat to Australia, calling in at many ports on the way. Since returning to the UK (in the late eighties), apart from three trips back to Australia, travel has mainly been confined to Europe. I wouldn't describe myself as a fearless traveller, but I like to get the inside story on places I visit. I am a people watcher and listener - love to hear and read of other people's experiences and cultures.
    It is fascinating to peruse travel stories of the hippie trail during the sixties and seventies, but sad to muse on the current situation of so many of the countries visited en route.

  • Hobbies:

    Swimming, walking, dancing, music (including playing instruments, piano and ukulele), reading ... and much more!

  • Favourite places:

    Too many to list ... although among cities, I love London and Paris especially, and have a one time inhabitant's affection for Sydney, too. Obviously, Florence, Rome and Venice are special places, beloved by all who visit. Lisbon is a glorious city, too - and spending time in the sixties travelling across Spain and all the way down through Portugal to the Algarve has left me with a fond and lasting impression of the latter country and its people.

Trips

Surreywoman hasn't logged any travels yet.

Wiki Travel Guide

Surreywoman hasn't been active in the wiki travel guide yet. Have you?