Skip Navigation


  • Respected Member
  • Member since 6th Sep 09
  • 1 Trips
  • 2090 Photos
  • 38 Forum Entries
  • 0 Guide Characters
  • 174 Blog Entries

Take risks and experience as much as you can.

  • Full Name: jonathan shapiro ( 67 / Male )
  • Lives In: Near Albany, new york, USA
  • Citizenship: USA
  • Marital Status: Married
  • Occupation: psychologist
  • About jonshapiro:

    I'm a 65 year old, mostly retired psychologist, interested in off-beat, long term independent travel, writing about my adventures, and learning digital photography. My wife Nanette usually travels with me, and I have two grown children, who also like to travel. Currently I am teaching English to Burmese monks and political refugees in this country, and have recently returned from a ten week journey to Morocco, Turkey, and parts of Europe.

  • Hobbies:

    I enjoy all kinds of skiing, especially backcountry adventures, as well as trekking, biking, and most anything else that gets me outdoors with an elevated heart rate. My more sedentary activities include, as noted above, writing, photography, as well as reading both fiction and non.

  • Favourite places:

    Hard to pin down. Certainly Laos, Ladakh in northern India, Nepal, the mountains of Peru , Patagonia, west-central China (Yunnan) etc. Almost any place that is wild with high mountains and friendly people.

Latest Blog Entries

Travel Blogs jonshapiro runs

Travel Blogs jonshapiro contributes to


Trip Stats

Burma, Indonesia and Laos

02 Feb 2010 - 19 Apr 2010

Visiting: Myanmar.

Wiki Travel Guide

jonshapiro hasn't been active in the wiki travel guide yet. Have you?