Gamer Heaven

Community Highlights Travel Philosophy Gamer Heaven

This is my first time in Iowa! I flew into Des Moines but my final destination is Cedar Rapids for a gaming convention. I had an early 5:50 am flight out of Reagan National. By the time I showed up at the airport, the security line for my gate has snaked out of the queue and sprawled out to the middle of the main terminal. Kind of ironic that the longest TSA line I have seen this year was after the government shutdown. Makes me wonder how much of it was media hype. Anyway I have TSA Pre-check so I quickly go through the screening . This time we took off on runway 33 so no view of the National Mall, but we did over fly the Pentagon.

Iowa was just like I imaged...flat.  Instead of corn fields there are endless tracts of snow covered farmland. They must have had a recent snowstorm because I saw at least 5 cars stranded along the shoulder or median. I am staying at the Marriott where the convention was being held. My room was not ready so I grabbed some lunch. The first thing I did once the room was ready was to shower. I skipped it this morning to get some extra snooze time...Eeww.  While waiting for my friends, Jenni and Chris, to drive up from Iowa City, I walked around the convention floor to check out what games were being played. One game caught my attention because of the cool looking miniatures, Starship Samurai. The game was already in progress but one of the players, Joe was kind enough to explain the rules of the game to me. Basically you are in control of a mechanized samurai robot and your goal is to colonize planet while beating back rival forces/robots.