Skip Navigation

Last Post This thread is marked as being about Brisbane
1. Posted by jennycala (Budding Member 6 posts) 2y Star this if you like it!

Hello all!

I'm an American moving to Brisbane in April and I'm excited and shitting my pants all at the same time. I've already what I think is everything ready. I've booked my flights and should here back on my WHV within the next few days. I was just wondering what other little things I might need to have that I'm likely not currently thinking about. Also for those of you that have been to Brisbane and surrounding areas - what should I definitely check out? And also what should I check out in Australia as a whole? I'll be there for a full year so I've got at least some time to explore and I want to make the most of it!

Thanks so much!

[ Edit: Edited on 25-Jan-2016, at 22:08 by jennycala ]

2. Posted by Nic_87 (Budding Member 2 posts) 2y Star this if you like it!

Hi Jenny,
Congrats on being able to take such a big trip. At least the dollar is in your favour.
Buy sunscreen when you get here, you need it cause the sun is pretty strong. Swimmers/bikini, towel & thongs (flip flops) you'll live in them in Queensland. Can I ask what made you choose Brisbane? Compared to the nearby Surfers Paradise, Brisbane is the business district.
I'm a Sydney girl now living in the outback. I haven't been but the Great Barrier Reef seems like a must.
The Great Ocean Road in Victoria is great, hire a car or campervan, it's got beautiful beaches, waterfalls and cool little towns. With the 12 apostles which are pretty amazing at sunrise!
If you can afford it, climb the Sydney Harbour Bridge, best view of the city.

Spend some time at Coodgee and Manly beaches in Sydney, very popular with backpackers.
Also the three sisters in the Blue Mountains. And if you're going all out, get to Uluru.
Good luck, Nic

By the way, there are a lot of travellers on WHV that work in an outback/regional area to extend their WHV, might be worth looking at.

[ Edit: Edited on 27-Jan-2016, at 15:30 by Nic_87 ]

3. Posted by GeorgiaLombardi (Budding Member 2 posts) 2y Star this if you like it!

Hello Jenny!!!!

I am a 20 year old Aussie female living in Brisbane I am from up north (near the Great Barrier Reef) so i have heeps of rad information i could help you with!!!! and I can help you with pretty much anything you need in Brissy! whats your email address??

Georgia :)