Log-In Timing Out; Losing Blog Entries

Travel Forums System Talk Log-In Timing Out; Losing Blog Entries

1. Posted by NellieVA (Budding Member 3 posts) 6y Star this if you like it!

Twice today I have lost entire portions of my blog entries, as I have been timed out of Travellerspoint. At some point, the system is automatically logging me out. I've learned this as I've gone to "save blog" and then it kicks me to the log-in screen, meaning that I've lost my entry. What's most aggravating is that the autosave is turned on, but I've still lost two entire entries.

Does anyone know how to disable to the "auto log-off" setting? I can't find it anywhere. I can't be the first person to whom this has happened, but it is incredibly frustrating. I'm new to TravelersPoint, having come over from TravelBlog, and I can't say the transition has been happy.

2. Posted by Sander (Moderator 6021 posts) 6y 1 Star this if you like it!

Ouch, that sounds really annoying! Sorry for such a frustrating experience!

There's a checkbox on the login screen, "Keep me logged in (lasts two weeks)". Do you have that checked when logging in, and does this happen despite that? Otherwise that'd be the thing to do. (But really, any activity on the site should extend the lifetime of the session cookie, particularly the autosave functionality, so this is still something for Peter to improve.)

(In the unlikely case you do have that checkbox checked, then this really shouldn't happen. If it does, then check if your system clock shows the correct date, or if maybe you have a privacy-related browser extension installed that could be messing up your cookie lifetime?)

[ Edit: Edited on 25-Aug-2017, at 14:32 by Sander ]

3. Posted by Trekki (Full Member 67 posts) 6y Star this if you like it!

I can confirm that checking the checkbox, @Sander suggests, works wonder. In the beginning I was also thrown out by the system, but since I tick this checkbox "Keep me logged in", I stay logged in :-)

4. Posted by Beausoleil (Travel Guru 2061 posts) 6y Star this if you like it!

I suppose you already know this, but if you save often, you don't lose things. Every time I make a change when writing on one of my blogs, I click on SAVE DRAFT to save it. Then I reopen and start work again. It only takes a few seconds and saves a lot of annoyance. You can actually have a published entry and still save a draft separately if you are working on something you want to remain published until you finish working on it. When you go to your blog entries, you will see the published entry and right underneath it you will see the DRAFT entry. The draft is the one you'll want to work on until you decide to republish with your changes.

If you haven't published, just keep saving your draft. I've been timed out a few times and oddly haven't lost anything, probably due to the automatic save feature. You do have to have the title filled in or the automatic save won't work so even if it's just a working title you will later change, put something in there so your work is automatically saved while you work on it.

Good luck. Hope some of the advice here works for you. Losing work is extremely frustrating . . . :(