Skip Navigation

Harvest trail info/suggestions/joining mates for May2013?

Travel Forums Australia / New Zealand & The Pacific Harvest trail info/suggestions/joining mates for May2013?

1. Posted by wild_eagle797 (Budding Member 3 posts) 4y Star this if you like it!

Hello everybody!

I just subscribed and was scanning the forum page which is of course loaded with threads, so here I am, trying to save time and spare some physiological energies by first of all posting one:

I am thinking of going to Australia in two months, probably but not decided yet, and I was scanning the web for job opportunities which would allow me mobility - and ->tadàn! I found files about the harvest trail and related guide and such
Sounds appealing, though I will probably be dead before the end of it but I will be in my 20s just for a little longer (27 now), so it's kind of now or never, right?^_^ Anyway, it is something I could start from, because I believe I need a break from town lifestyle

Thing is, is it a good idea? Is it a good idea to be armed with a tent?
As I will be alone, is Australia a country where to watch out for weirdos or gross farmer? Is it REALLY SUPER exhausting? I cannot ask anyone "will I make it" cause that's on me =D but you know, just testing the waters!;)

I will sincerely appreciate any possible hint sugestion comment!!!!

Also, if anyone feels like "hey, I was exactly thinking the same!" please, do get in touch ^_^

!thanks you!

2. Posted by rich1_2_3 (Budding Member 32 posts) 4y Star this if you like it!

i land in perth may 3rd an wanna do exactly the same tbh!

3. Posted by Antsf88 (Budding Member 15 posts) 4y Star this if you like it!

i'm in exactly the same boat!
25 and feel like i need to do it now or never.
i really wanted to do it with some mates but they all pulled out and tbh i think that i should maybe give up on it as well, but i cant get the idea out my head!
also due to the fact that my plans have been changing a lot i dont have any money saved yet so i would pretty much only have a week or so to find work, which is a bit daunting as i keep hearing things about people saying it took them a month to find work and i might be skint by

had u thot about what part of oz you are going to start in?


4. Posted by wild_eagle797 (Budding Member 3 posts) 4y Star this if you like it!

well, I was checking on the season thing and as for the savings, well, I think I know what you mean and being told more than once australia is a pretty expensive country (nice only if you do actually earn australian dollars) AND i am so worried but cannot miss this, i think.

So, it actually looks like the summer season is the slowest, of course, so it is possible to be stuck for some the way the [may on~] side appears to be the brisbane area, northish east, but on some documents i read also about the west area, also northish (winter, after all).....

5. Posted by Dtinney (Budding Member 11 posts) 4y Star this if you like it!

Im landing in Sydney from the UK on 27th May..

My plan was to work in Sydney for 6 weeks, build up a nice cash pot $$$ - head over to fiji for 2/3 weeks, chill out, party etc.

Come back, and get the Indian Pacific train from Adelaide > Perth.
By then, we are talking about mid August, when the crops are starting to come through and they need the farm work (for the Oz summer/our winter).

Do the 3 months fruit picking and voila... second year visa DONE! Just in time for summer, so more work going in the cities and towns/ bar work etc plus a lot more to see and do around the country...

6. Posted by wild_eagle797 (Budding Member 3 posts) 4y Star this if you like it!

thank you all guys for the hints!!!

actually I am still working on sorting out my opportunities, but it still sounds a little frightening. I admit.

Dtinney, your plan sounds very well thought of, I will do my best in the next few days to clear my mind and post you some next stage myself ;)

What I really wonder about is freedom/faculty to move around australia. I read a lot about "better be car-equipped" and such, thus I wander how likely it is to be able to go up and down alone or basically, how convenient that would be...
(i know, i have a loadful of doubts...but really I have no money, cannot help wondering^^