Arabian Sea

Travel Guide Arabian Sea



The Arabian Sea is a region of the northern Indian Ocean bounded on the north by Pakistan and Iran, on the west by northeastern Somalia and the Arabian Peninsula, and on the east by India. An ancient name was the Erythraean Sea and Persian Sea.




The Arabian Sea's surface area is about 3,862,000 km2. The maximum width of the Sea is approximately 2,400 kilometres, and its maximum depth is 4,652 metres. The biggest river flowing into the Sea is the Indus River.

The Arabian Sea has two important branches - the Gulf of Aden in the southwest, connecting with the Red Sea through the strait of Bab-el-Mandeb; and the Gulf of Oman to the northwest, connecting with the Persian Gulf. There are also the gulfs of Khambhat and Kutch on the Indian coast.

The countries with coastlines on the Arabian Sea are Somalia, Djibouti, Yemen, Oman, Iran, Pakistan, India and the Maldives. There are several large cities on the sea's coast including Karachi, Gwadar, Pasni, Ormara, Aden, Muscat, Mumbai, Keti Bandar, Salalah, Duqm and Kochi.


Arabian Sea Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Arabian Sea

This is version 1. Last edited at 11:16 on Jan 15, 16 by Utrecht. 3 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License