Austral Islands

Travel Guide Oceania Polynesia French Polynesia Austral Islands



The Tuha'a Pae, or Austral Islands, are the southernmost group of islands in French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity of France in the South Pacific. Geographically, they consist of two separate archipelagos, namely in the northwest the Tupua'i islands (French: Îles Tubuaï) consisting of the Îles Maria, Rimatara, Rūrutu, Tupua'i Island proper and Ra'ivāvae, and in the southeast the Bass Islands (French: Îles basses) composed of the main island of Rapa Iti and the small Marotiri (also known as Bass Rocks or Îlots de Bass). Inhabitants of the islands are known for their pandanus fiber weaving skills. The islands of Maria and Marotiri are not suitable for sustained habitation. Several of the islands have uninhabited islets or rocks off their coastlines. Austral Islands' population is about 6,300 on almost 150 km2. The capital of the Austral Islands administrative subdivision is Tupua'i.




Tubuai Islands

The Tubuai Islands are the northwesternmost part of the Austral Islands, and they consist of:

  • Iles Maria - an uninhabited atoll.
  • Raivavae - (900 pop.), considered one of the most beautiful islands in the world.
  • Rimatara - (750 p), the smallest by land area.
  • Rurutu - (2,000 p), the second largest of the Austral Islands, with some interesting maraes.
  • Tubuai (2,000) - the main island of the Australs, with the main airport.

Bass Islands

The Bass Islands are the southeast of the Tubuai Islands, and they consist of:

  • Rapa Iti - population 500.
  • Marotiri island - four small, volcanic, uninhabited islands.


Austral Islands Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Austral Islands

This is version 1. Last edited at 12:56 on Jul 14, 17 by Utrecht. 1 article links to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License