East Nusa Tenggara

Travel Guide Lesser Sunda Islands East Nusa Tenggara



East Nusa Tenggara is a province of Indonesia. It is the eastern part of the Nusa Tenggara islands and includes West Timor. It has a total area of 48,718.1 km2. The provincial capital is Kupang on West Timor.

The province consists of more than 500 islands, the three largest are Flores, Sumba, and the western half of Timor (West Timor). The eastern part of Timor is the independent country of East Timor. East Nusa Tenggara is the only province in Indonesia where Roman Catholicism is the predominant religion. Nusa Tenggara Timur, in Indonesian, means "eastern of the southeastern islands"; compare to Nusa Tenggara Barat, which means "western of the southeastern islands".




Located in the east of Lesser Sunda Islands, East Nusa Tenggara faces the Indian Ocean in the south and Flores Sea in the north. The province is bordered by other provinces, West Nusa Tenggara in the west. In the east, the province is bordered by East Timor and southern part of Maluku.
The province consists of about 566 islands, the largest and most dominant are Flores, Sumba, and the western part of Timor. The other is smaller islands include Adonara, Alor, Komodo, Lembata (formerly called Lomblen), Menipo, Raijua, Rincah, Rote Island (the southernmost island in Indonesia), Savu, Semau, and Solor. The highest point in the province is Mount Mutis in the South Central Timor Regency, 2,427 metres above sea level.



Sights and Activities


Bajawa is a town on Flores and is the capital of the Ngada Regency. It lies south of the East Nusa Tenggara province and southeast of Ruteng. Bajawa features natural hot springs which are used for bathing and volcanic scenery.The population is primary Roman Catholic.

Gunung Kelimutu

Gunung Kelimutu is a volcano, close to the small town of Moni about 50 kilometres to the east of Ende on central Flores. The volcano contains three striking summit crater lakes of varying colors. Tiwu Ata Mbupu (Lake of Old People) is usually blue and is the westernmost of the three lakes. The other two lakes, Tiwu Nuwa Muri Koo Fai (Lake of Young Men and Maidens) and Tiwu Ata Polo (Bewitched or Enchanted Lake) are separated by a shared crater wall and are typically green or red respectively. The lake colors vary on a periodic basis.

Komodo National Park

Komodo National Park is a World Heritage Site and the volcanic islands are world famous because of its gigantic Komodo lizards, which are an impressive sight.

Komodo Dragon - Rinca, Kmodo National Park

Komodo Dragon - Rinca, Kmodo National Park

© phileas

The animals can be extremely aggressive so be alert at all times, especially when you have small children with you. They exist nowhere else in the world and are of great interest to scientists studying the theory of evolution.

Labuan Bajo

Labuan Bajo is a fishing village on Flores. It is the entry door of Flores and a good base to explore Komodo or Rincha. You can do pretty good snorkelling or diving in the area. The snorkeling within the park offers many opportunities to see pristine reefs with some of the greatest fish and coral diversity in the world. Nearby Seraya Island is a great opportunity to do some diving and snorkeling and every evening at Kalong Island thousands of flying fox bats put on an amazing display.



as well as theo1006 (6%)

East Nusa Tenggara Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for East Nusa Tenggara

This is version 4. Last edited at 17:50 on Jan 11, 19 by theo1006. 7 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License