Overseas Territories (United Kingdom)

Travel Guide Overseas Territories Overseas Territories



The 14 British Overseas Territories (BOT) are territories under the jurisdiction and sovereignty of the United Kingdom. They are the parts of the British Empire that have not been granted independence or have voted to remain British territories. These territories do not form part of the United Kingdom and, with the exception of Gibraltar, are not part of the European Union. Most of the inhabited territories are internally self-governing, with the UK retaining responsibility for defence and foreign relations. The rest are either uninhabited or have a transitory population of military or scientific personnel. They share the British monarch (Elizabeth II) as head of state.

Almost all overseas areas of the UK are covered in the respective continents, except the ones mentioned here.


Overseas Territories (United Kingdom) Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Overseas Territories (United Kingdom)

This is version 6. Last edited at 9:14 on Jul 12, 17 by Utrecht. 6 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License