Republika Srpska

Travel Guide Europe Bosnia and Herzegovina Republika Srpska



Republika Srpska is one of the two constitutional entities of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the other being the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The entities are largely autonomous. Its de jure capital city is Sarajevo, but the de facto capital and administrative centre is Banja Luka.

The territory of what is Republika Srpska was first inhabited by several Illyrian and Celtic civilizations during the Neolithic age. After centuries of Ottoman and Austro-Hungarian rule, it became part of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes in 1918 following World War I, which was renamed to Yugoslavia in 1929. Following World War II in Yugoslavia, it became part of the second Yugoslavia in 1945 as part of the Socialist Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The creation of the modern Republika Srpska in 1991 was declared from six Serb Autonomous Regions during the Yugoslav Wars and became part of Bosnia and Herzegovina in 1995.

Since the end of the war, Republika Srpska maintains its unicameral parliamentary system and maintains a free economy similar to the rest of the country.




Republika Srpska is located in a northern and southeast part of the country. It has a border with Croatia on the north, Serbia on the east and Montenegro on the south.

The Inter-Entity Boundary Line (IEBL) between Bosnia and Herzegovina's two entities essentially follows the front lines at the end of the Bosnian War with adjustments (most importantly in the western part of the country and around Sarajevo) defined by the Dayton Agreement. The total length of the IEBL is approximately 1,080 kilometres. The IEBL is an administrative demarcation uncontrolled by military or police and there is free movement across it

The Dinaric Alps dominate the western border with Croatia. Mountains in Republika Srpska include Kozara, Romanija, Jahorina, Bjelašnica, Motajica and Treskavica. The highest point of the entity is peak Maglić at 2,386 metres, near the border with Montenegro.

Most rivers belong to the Black Sea drainage basin. The principal rivers are the Sava, a tributary of the Danube that forms the northern boundary with Croatia; the Bosna, Vrbas, Sana and Una, which flow north and empty into the Sava; the Drina, which flows north, forms part of the eastern boundary with Serbia, and is also a tributary of the Sava. Trebišnjica is one of the longest sinking rivers in the world. It belongs Adriatic Sea drainage basin. Skakavac Waterfall on the Perućica is one of the highest waterfalls in the country, at about 75 metres in height. The most important lakes are Bileća Lake, Lake Bardača and Balkana Lake.

In Republika Srpska are located two national parks, Sutjeska National Park and Kozara National Park, and one protected nature park, Bardača. Perućica is one of the last remaining primeval forests in Europe.




There are seven main regions and the major places which they covered:

1. Banja Luka: Banja Luka (City status), Čelinac, Gradiška, Istočni Drvar, Jezero, Kneževo, Kostajnica, Kotor Varoš, Kozarska Dubica, Krupa na Uni, Kupres, Laktaši, Mrkonjić Grad, Novi Grad, Oštra Luka, Petrovac, Prijedor (City status), Ribnik, Srbac, Šipovo, Teslić;
2. Doboj: Brod, Derventa, Doboj (City status), Donji Žabar, Modriča, Pelagićevo, Petrovo, Prnjavor, Stanari, Šamac, Vukosavlje;
3. Bijeljina: Bijeljina (City status), Lopare, Ugljevik;
4. Vlasenica: Bratunac, Milići, Osmaci, Srebrenica, Šekovići, Vlasenica, Zvornik (City status);
5. Sarajevo: Romanija: Han Pijesak, Istočna Ilidža, Istočno Novo Sarajevo, Istočni Stari Grad, Istočno Sarajevo (City status), Pale, Rogatica, Sokolac, Trnovo;
6. Foča: Čajniče, Foča, Kalinovik, Novo Goražde (Ustiprača), Rudo, Visegrad;
7. Trebinje: Berkovići, Bileća, Gacko, Istočni Mostar, Ljubinje, Nevesinje, Trebinje (City status).

Brčko District with special status within the country belongs to both constitutional entities.

Republika Srpska is furthermore divided into municipalities. There are 63 municipalities.




  • Banja Luka - administrative, cultural and economic center and capital (de facto )
  • Prijedor
  • Doboj
  • Bijeljina
  • Zvornik
  • Istočno Sarajevo - the capital (de jure)
  • Trebinje




Events and Festivals

  • Belgrade Banjaluka - road bicycle race as part of UCI Europe Tour. It is held annually. Takes place from Saturday 28 April 2018 till Sunday 29 April 2018.



Get connected


Most cities and major towns have at least one internet café. Free wifi is available in most of cafes, restaurants, and hotels (ask for a password) and in some areas even in city centers.


To make an international call from Bosnia and Herzegovina, the code is 00 387.

The main operator for Republika Srpska is MTEL (Banja Luka). There are two more main mobile phone networks in Bosnia and Herzegovina: HT ERONET (Mostar), and BHTelecom (Sarajevo). Another three virtual mobile phone networks: Haloo, Happy, and Izimobil.

You can buy a prepaid SIM card from any network at any kiosk or mobile shops for 10 KM or less.


Pošte Srpske offers postal services in Republika Srpska. Prices and services are very reasonable and reliable. Post offices are generally open from 7:00am to 7:00pm during weekdays and also on Saturday mornings in bigger places.



as well as Peter (1%)

This is version 32. Last edited at 15:21 on Feb 26, 19 by Utrecht. 8 articles link to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License