Travel Guide Europe Russia Volga Region Tatarstan



Tatarstan, officially the Republic of Tatarstan is a federal subject (a republic) of the Russian Federation, located in the Volga Federal District. Its capital is the city of Kazan. The republic borders Kirov, Ulyanovsk, Samara, and Orenburg Oblasts, the Mari El, Udmurt, and Chuvash Republics, and the Republic of Bashkortostan. The area of the republic is 68,000 square kilometres. The unofficial Tatarstan motto is: Bez Buldırabız! (We can!). As of the 2010 Census the population of Tatarstan was 3,786,488. The state has strong ties with its eastern neighbor the Republic of Bashkortostan.




The republic is located in the center of the East European Plain, approximately 800 kilometres east of Moscow. It lies between the Volga River and the Kama River (a tributary of the Volga), and extends east to the Ural mountains.


Tatarstan Travel Helpers

We don't currently have any Travel Helpers for Tatarstan

This is version 1. Last edited at 13:55 on Jan 11, 17 by Utrecht. 1 article links to this page.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content of this article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License