Window and Book Cupboard at Lacock Abbey Postcard

Travel Photography Travel Postcards United Kingdom Postcards Window and Book Cupboard at Lacock Abbey

Thumbnail version a larger format appears to the receiver and in preview mode
Window and Book Cupboard at Lacock Abbey

Window and Book Cupboard at Lacock Abbey, United Kingdom

Lacock Abbey was founded in the early 13th century by Ela, Countess of Salisbury, as a nunnery in the Augustinian order. It remained a convent until the dissolution in the 16th century when it was then sold to Sir William Sharington who converted the convent into a residence where he and his family lived. The house was built over the old cloisters and its main rooms are on the first floor. The Tudor stable courtyard to the north of the house has retained many of its original features including the brewhouse and bakehouse but the rest of the house is a very mixed combination of styles due to constant changes and improvements over the years. The house was inherited by the Talbot family, and during the 19th century was the home of William Henry Fox Talbot. In 1835 he made what may be the earliest surviving photographic camera negative, an image of one of the windows. The house and the surrounding village of Lacock were given to the National Trust in 1944. The abbey houses the Fox Talbot Museum in the old Abbey barn.

Photo by Beausoleil

or