Route Merveilleuse, Namen, Belgie 2010 - Namur by dromosapien Star this if you like it!

Across the Sambre river from the Namur centrum is the Citadelle that began as a wooden tower in the 10th century, fortified with stone when Chateau Des Comtes (castle of the counts) was built 1235-1245 and Charles V (1500-1558) enlarged it 1542-1555 into a fortified city, La Mediane. By the 17th century it had become one of the largest fortifications in Europe. It was restored 1816-1825 by the Congress of Vienna but then partially dismantled in 1860 by Napoleon III (1808-1873) and had limited military functions. * Namur / Namen, population: 107,000, located at the confluence of the Meuse & Sambre rivers. It is the capital of Wallonia, the French speaking region (55%) of Belgium. Its caves were settled by Neanderthals about 98,000 or 67,000 BC (!) and later the Cro-Magnons 29,000 BC. In 57-54 BC the Romans attacked the tribes of Belgium’s fortification called Aduaticorum / Oppidum Atuatucorum and established a castrum or fort where the city is today. In 7th century AD it was referred to as Navinucum Centrum / Numucum and since the 12th century AD it has been called Namur. It was a merchant town, the occasional residences of kings and exchanged hands frequently via royal marriages, sales and more often, military conquests.


No comments yet.

Be the first to comment on this photo!

More photos from Belgium